Message sent from:

Letters and Sounds

Children in Reception and Key Stage 1 take part in daily phonics sessions linked to the Letters and Sounds programme. This programme aims to build children's speaking and listening skills as well as preparing them to learn to read by developing their phonic knowledge and skills. Letters and Sounds is split into 6 phases which aim for children to become fluent readers by the age of seven.

Phase One

Activities are divided into seven aspects, including environmental sounds, instrumental sounds, body sounds, rhythm and rhyme, alliteration, voice sounds and finally oral blending and segmenting.

Phase Two

Learning 19 letters of the alphabet and one sound for each. Blending sounds together to make words. Segmenting words into their separate sounds. Beginning to read simple captions.

Phase Three

The remaining 7 letters of the alphabet, one sound for each. Graphemes such as ch, oo, th representing the remaining phonemes not covered by single letters. Reading captions, sentences and questions. On completion of this phase, children will have learnt the "simple code", i.e. one grapheme for each phoneme in the English language.

Phase Four

No new grapheme-phoneme correspondences are taught in this phase. Children learn to blend and segent longer words with adjacet consonants, e.g. swim, clap, jump.

Phase Five

Now we move on to the "complex code". Children learn more graphemes for the phonemes which they already know, plus different ways of pronouncing the graphemes they already know.

Phase Six

Working on spelling, including prefixes and suffixes, doubling and dropping letters etc.


Here are some useful phonics websites that we use within school. Although all websites have been checked to ensure that they are suitable, children should be supervised when using the Internet.


BBC Schools Words & Pictures





Pronunciation of sounds - You Tube




Reading Scheme

We use a wide range of reading schemes in school including Rigby Stars and the Oxford Reading Tree.