Message sent from:

Foundation Stage

Children in Nursery and Reception follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum. This curriculum is used to inform planning and support children in their next steps of development. Topics are planned around children's interests to ensure enthusiastic and self-motivated learners. Within the curriculum there are 7 areas of learning and development which interconnect to ensure holistic development.

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Play is an important part of a child's development. Each area of learning and development is implemented through planned, purposeful play which is developed through high qualitity enhancements. This enables children to develop independently at their own pace but whilst still being supported through adult led and child initiated activities.

To read Development Matters in the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYF) click here

Foundation Stage Policy

To read the Foundation Stage policy document please click here.


Hit enter to search